• Important Facts
Google Adword TV is not for everyone. You will find this information to be candid and direct. If after reading this, you believe a national approach to advertising your product is a fit, we welcome the opportunity to assist you. Please read this entire page. If you have any questions, contact us via telephone toll free at 866-505-0806.
Google Adword TV has changed everything. It was once a reality that advertisers were limited to local markets to promote their product on television. The statistics tell us that Americans remain most persuaded by what they see on television. Television provides instant credibility, instills trust and most importantly sells products. Google with partnership of NBC and its cable properties in 2008 entered into the television commercial sales arena. Google Adwords TV makes available to everyone the opportunity to purchase unsold television commercial inventory at discounted prices. Anyone can do it. Sign up for an adwords account on google. Select the television stations and you are on your way to advertising across the USA, but are you really?
Google Adwords TV is designed for professional media planners. The template is similar to other platforms used in most advertising agencies. You can select your stations and times, but are you really micro targeting to your audience? This requires research. Google Adwords TV does not provide research. Their objective is to sell unused inventory. These two concepts are often in direct conflict with each other. If you are purchasing Adwords TV because it is cheap and you just want to throw some ads out there and see what happens, go for it. Your chance of return of your investment is small with this approach.
You are all alone. There is no phone support. No email support. No help. It's that simple. If you have any questions or problems, your only answers will be from help forums. We understand, We have learned the hard way. We know the limitations, expectations and distinct advantages of Google Adwords TV. We answer our phones and emails the same day you contact us.
Will I see my commercial air in my market? The best way to answer this common question about GoogleTV national commercial placement is with the following example. When watching a television commercial and you see the last few seconds of another commercial after the commercial you were watching ends helps illustrate the situation. What did you just see? You saw a local commercial airing over a national commercial feed. You watched the last two seconds of the national commercial feed.
So what has occurred? The national cable station (CNN, ESPN, TNT, etc) feeds the GoogleTV commercials to all local stations. Any local cable stations that do not "sell out" their local air time will air the GoogleTV commercials. It is only at this moment that we know who had unused inventory. Local stations prefer to air GoogleTV ads rather than have "dead air" or a public service message before returning to regular programming. In the thousands of cable zones nationally there are always stations who air GoogleTV commercials every hour. GoogleTV calculates viewership by the number of television sets that viewed at least five seconds of your commercial. The blip example would never be counted as a viewer because the time duration for these blips are under two seconds. Your commercial will air in many markets, but there is no way to know if it aired in yours. We do not have access to reports that detail the markets and zones where the commercial aired. We only receive CPM viewership numbers as detailed in the next section. If there is a local commercial airing when your national GoogleTV commercial is airing in your market, you will not see your commercial.
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• The Cost
• Google Adword TV charges by Impression and not per spot or market. An impression is an active television that is tuned to and displays a given commercial for 5 seconds or more. Impressions are sold in groups of 1,000 or CPM (cost per thousand). The station and time periods are selected, then the CPM for your commercial. As an example; One commercial may total 10 CPM's or 10,000 impressions and another may total 25 CPM's and have 25,000 impressions for a total of two commercials that reach 35,000 active televisions. At the end of the 28 day campaign you will receive all the CPM's that your purchased, but the number of commercials will vary. If you are comparing our agency with another, be certain they are selling you CPM's and not a bulk number of commercials. You could purchase a bulk package of 100 commercials that have 1,000 impressions each time they air for a total of 100,000 impressions or you could purchase 100 CPM's for a total of 100,000 impressions. Compare the prices carefully.
• We charge a flat fee of $10.00 per CPM Impressions. We make your commercial available for any member cable or satellite station in America to air who has unused inventory. Together we agree on the stations and times you desire. Your commercial will only be viewed by as many CPM Impressions as purchased. If you purchase 10 CPM Impressions (10 x 1000 = 10,000), your cost for the commercial to reach 10,000 active television sets in America is $100.00 (10 CPMs x $10.00 per CPM = $100.00). Compare this price to what you pay when you purchase locally to reach 10,000 television sets and the advantage of Google Adwords TV's reach and low cost become obvious.
• Cannot select specific regions. Google Adwords TV only allows for national placement. Your commercial is "fed" to all cable stations who have the option to air your commercial based on their local inventory. There is no mechanism to select specific states or DMA's. This is good for most advertisers, but for business verticals like Attorneys who are only licensed in specific states, this becomes an issue.
• "POST LOG" ONLY with Google Adwords TV. A common question is when will my commercial air? We will not know until after it airs on Google Adword TV. Why? When we buy media from a local television station we pay in advance of the air date and their traffic department creates a "PRE LOG". This tells us the date and time your commercial will air. This provides a client the times when to watch for their commercial. Because Google Adwords TV is making unused inventory available, all media is placed the day of airing. There is no time to generate a "PRE LOG". We do not know when your commercial aired until after Google Adwords TV has reconciled the statistics for the day your ad was scheduled to broadcast. There is no mechanism to obtain information earlier than the "POST LOGS".
• Reconciling your commercial's statistics. Before March 2010, if you aired commercials on Google Adword TV it was a much simpler process than today. We purchased CPM's. This was the exact amount we paid. Without warning, after our agency had many commitments based on this assumption, Google changed the formula. With the reporting of DVR commercial viewing, the active television number now includes DVR viewership. It takes a few days for the actual viewership statistics of your commercial to be reconciled. The reports we receive each day are incomplete. We use these reports only to confirm our client's commercials are airing. When clients want instant information, this can be frustrating. We do not provide daily reports. We provide weekly reports after reconciled. The CPM on the report will always be $10.00
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• The Process
Google Adwords TV production standards are exact. Once you purchase your commercial air time, you need to have a commercial to air. The standards they set are exact and unwavering. When we create commercials and submit to local cable or television stations, they have technicians who can modify the commercial to conform to their standards. Unlike radio where we send an mp3 file and everyone is happy, in television, each station is different. From the layout requiring a "slate" to the audio and video specifications. Our team worked with a third party vendor to create the software for processing commercials for Google Adwords TV. Before you purchase a schedule on Google Adwords TV, be certain your commercial has been processed by a professional production company who understands Google Adword TV's strict requirements.
We create your commercial for a national audience. We build the commercials to gain (DR) direct response. It is rare that a client has the funds to build a brand name. Our clients need to see return on their investment. Our business grows when our clients succeed. We no longer air commercials created by other production companies. A sixty second commercial is much more effective for (DR) direct response advertising campaigns. Another advantage of Google Adwords TV is the cost to air a fifteen, thirty or sixty second commercial are the same.
We discuss your product and target audience. In a detailed telephone conversation together we will develop a plan. Once the objectives are clear, planning and implementation are the next steps.
Minimum Investment. As of August 1, 2010 we no long accept Google Adword TV advertising campaigns under $10,000. The amount of daily maintenance required and the number of CPM's required for success, requires this level of commitment. If this is not within your budget, we will gladly assist you with a local media placement. Unlike most other agencies we have no hidden fees or utilize re-sellers. We achieve maximum impact for our client's media budget.
Payment. When we purchase media from local television stations, the station receives payment and the schedule. With Google Adwords TV, it is post payment once they reconcile the CPM numbers. Each day Google Adwords TV withdraws funds from our bank account. The steps are: (1) We place your commercial. (2) It airs. (3) Google reconciles the account. (4) Google collects their funds instantly. Because credit card fees on $10,000 or more are significant and we are working on small profit margins, we only accept a check (ten days to clear) or bank wire transfer for media placement of Google Adwords TV.
Unlike all other production companies you do not need to make a media buy in order to purchase our television commercial production. We would be happy to process your commercial for GoogleTV adwords if you decide to not utilize our media buying experience.
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